Quote:
Originally posted by tmdiva
I know I know I know (thanks to being married to a baseball rules/strategy geek)!
When there is one out or no outs, runners on at least first and second (or bases loaded), and the batter hits a high popup that could be fielded by an infielder, the ump calls infield fly while the ball is still in the air. Whether or not the ball is actually caught, the batter is out and the runners do not advance.
I guess I could Google to check for sure--the only part I might have missed is the runners on. It might be that the bases have to be loaded.
tm
|
Wrong in one respect: the runners can advance at their peril.
the batter is out whether the ball is caught or not. Runners may tag-up after a catch or run if no-catch. Since the batter is out all forces are removed. Rule 2.00 Infield-fly.