LawTalkers  

Go Back   LawTalkers

» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
» Online Users: 162
0 members and 162 guests
No Members online
Most users ever online was 9,654, 05-18-2025 at 04:16 AM.
View Single Post
Old 07-18-2005, 02:09 PM   #1510
Tyrone Slothrop
Moderasaurus Rex
 
Tyrone Slothrop's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 33,080
Not Bob & Friends

Quote:
Originally posted by ThurgreedMarshall
Why? Just because they are allowed to break up a double play when sliding into second? It's not like when Albert Belle knocked Fernando Vina into next week, because Vina was standing in the base line (and that rule applies to first base). Millar was flat on his back and simply wanted to interfere with Cano's throw to first. It's no different than if he stuck his foot out and tripped Cano, if Cano had been trying to run to first to tag the bag himself.
OK. I'm just saying that when you're going to second, you're allowed to intentionally mess with the fielder -- sliding wide of the bag, rolling, etc. -- in a way that you're not when you're going to first. Not having seen the play, I'm willing to accept that Millar went too far.
__________________
“It was fortunate that so few men acted according to moral principle, because it was so easy to get principles wrong, and a determined person acting on mistaken principles could really do some damage." - Larissa MacFarquhar
Tyrone Slothrop is offline  
 
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.0.1

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:07 AM.